mehrzad

Rebirth

In Culture, Mindfulness, Writing on March 19, 2017 at 11:51 am
MehrzadKarimabadi_Nowruz1396

This year’s Sabze (sprout) and a tiny Seeb (apple) from “7 Seen”

Spring is stealing my heart, soul and existence…That being in harmony with what you see and what you hear. I am typing as if the keyboard is my piano, as I am listening to Lachini’s Golden Autumn! You might say ironic, but it is not. The keyboard, the nostalgia and the Norouz (aka Nowruz, Persian New Year). Flowers on the table, blossoms when I look out the window, it seems that the music is coming out of my keyboard. This is the ultimate harmony. Living the fantasy however for a fraction of an hour. Golden Autumn ended, and my smart radio understands my soul, and the gift is McLaughlin’s “New Light”. Here as I long for my Piano sitting lonely in Tehran, I type and try to remember what Mrs. Choubak, my piano teacher used to say: don’t drop your fingers, back straight, do not drop your wrist. What am I doing? I have to “study”, what I have done as long as I remember. I will get to it, as long as I can take a break to be in tune with my surroundings and feel the freshness in the air and maybe a little bit of meditation to tap into some peace. Are you kidding me radio? Now it is Kevin Kern’s “Childhood Remembered” the picture on the album is a horse in the wind. Suddenly there comes cello, I slow down on the keyboard and my entire body becomes it. My soul is played and I look at the Sabze* by the window praying its speedy growth as we have less than a day to the actual equinox. Up next is Lachini’s Dilemma and I am back to reading another article and completing another discussion on Canvas.

Persian New Year’s Eve 1396.

Leave a Reply

